General Information

Kien Giang province, Southern Vietnam
Region: Mekong Delta
Capital: Rach Giá
Area: 6,299 km² (2,432 sq mi)
Population: About 1.7 million
Density: 260/km² (670/sq mi)
Demographics: Vietnamese, Khmer, Hoa
Calling code: 773

Kiên Giang is a province of Vietnam, located in the Mekong Delta region of southern Vietnam. It is known for fishing and rice farming. The provincial capital is Rach Giá, 250 km from the Ho Chi Minh City. Kien Giang’s dimension is about 6,299 km² and its population is about 1,634,043, of which 22 percent live in the urban area.

Kien Giang is bordered with An Giang Province in the northeast, Cần Thơ and Hau Giang in the east, Bac Lieu in the southeast and Cà Mau in the south, and Kampot Province of Cambodia (with the 54km border) in the west, Gulf of Thailand in the southwest (with the 200km coast).

According to survey results on April 1, 2009, Kien Giang province’s population is 1,683,149 people.



Coordinates: 9°23’50” N to 10°32’30” N, 104°40′ E to 105°32’40” E.

Area: 6,299 km², 4,119.74 km² of agricultural land (66% natural area), private land for rice accounted for 3,170.19 km² (77% of agricultural land). Forest land is 1,200.27 km² (19% natural area). The province also funds unused land near the 500.00 km².


Average annual rainfall: 1980mm (for land);
Average temperature: 27,3 °C;
Dry seasons occur for approximately 3 months and the rest is mostly wet season;
Dry season: from 7 to 8 hours/day.
Rainy Season: from 4 to 6 hours/day.
Average relative humidity: 80 to 83%.


In 1774, Lord Nguyen Phuc Dang Khoat divided into 12 in the palace, but still leave the town of Ha Tien, Mac Thien Tich style as Admiral rule.

By the reign of Minh Mang, in 1832, Ha Tien is one of the six provinces of the South.

In 1876, Southern France divided into four big administrative regions, each region divided into smaller administrative sub-district or county take action (administrative arrondissement), Ha Tien, the former being divided into two particle parameters are Ha Tien and Rach Gia. From January 1, 1900, two-particle parameters of Ha Tien and Rach Gia became provinces of Ha Tien and Rach Gia.

Since the Republic of Vietnam, Hà Tiên and Rach Giá merged to Kiên Giang. Kiên Giang was including seven counties at that time: Kien Luong, Kien An, Kien Binh, Tan Kien Kien Thanh and Phu Quoc. Kien Giang province is bordering the Cambodia to the north, Chau Doc to the northeast, An Giang province to the east and Phong Dinh Province, Chuong Thien to the southeast, An Xuyen to the south.

Administrative Divisions

Kiên Giang has into one city (Rach Giá), one town (Hà Tiên), and thirteen districts:
– An Biên
– An Minh
– Châu Thành
– Giang Thành
– Giong Rieng
– Gò Quao
– Hòn Đat
– Kiên Hai
– Kiên Luong
– Phú Quoc
– Tân Hiep
– Vinh Thuan
– U Minh Thuong

For more details about other provinces and cities of Vietnam, please follow this link.

Back to top of page Offroad Vietnam Motorbike Adventures - Kien Giang Province, Southern Vietnam