Vinh Long Province General Information

Vinh Long Province, Southern Vietnam
Region: Mekong Delta
Capital: Vinh Long
Area: 1,525.73 km²
Population: 1,022,791 (2019 Census)
Density: 670/km²
Demographics: Vietnamese, Khmer, Hoa, and Gia Rai
Calling code: 270

Vinh Long is a province in the Mekong River Delta of Southern Vietnam.

Administrative History

In fact, modern-day Vinh Long was part of Long Ho Dinh (barrack) from the Nguyen Lords in 1732. It included the provinces of Ben Tre, Trà Vinh, and parts of Can Tho. The area saw some of the heaviest fightings between the Tây Son brothers and the Nguyen Lords in the late 18th century. In 1784, Nguyen Hue defeated Siamese forces aiding Nguyen Ánh at the Mang Thít River.

In 1951, the Southern Resistance Administrative Committee of the Democratic Republic of Vietnam (North Vietnam) merged Vinh Long and Trà Vinh provinces into Vinh Tra Province. Vinh Tra existed until 1954 (however, as North Vietnam never administered the area for a significant period of time, this arrangement was not enforced). In 1957, the government of the Republic of Vietnam (South Vietnam) formed Vinh Long Province, consisting of six districts: Châu Thành, Cho Lách (now part of Ben Tre Province), Tam Bình, Bình Minh, Sa Đéc, and Lap Vò. In 1961, Cái Nhum District broke from Cho Lách. Đuc Tôn District and Đuc Thành District were added in 1962 but joined the former Sa Dec Province in 1966.

As of 1975, the province had 7 districts: Châu Thành, Cho Lách, Tam Bình, Bình Minh, Minh Đuc, Trà Ôn, and Vung Liêm.

After the fall of Saigon and South Vietnam reunited with North Vietnam, the new government merged Vinh Long with Trà Vinh Province, forming Cuu Long province in 1976. In 1991, Cuu Long again broke into Vinh Long and Trà Vinh. At the time of the split, Vinh Long Province consisted of one city (Vinh Long) and 5 districts: Long Ho, Vung Liêm, Bình Minh, Tam Bình, and Trà Ôn.

In 1992, Mang Thít District was re-split from Long Ho District. In 2007, Bình Tân District was created.

Offroad Vietnam Motorbike Adventures - Vinh Long Province, Southern Vietnam


Lying between the Hau and Tien rivers in the centre of the Mekong Delta, Vinh Long is a province famous for fishing.

Vinh Long Province Administration Divisions

Vinh Long is subdivided into eight district-level sub-divisions:

6 districts

Bình Tân
Long Ho
Mang Thít
Tam Bình
Trà Ôn
Vung Liêm

1 district-level town

Bình Minh

1 provincial city

Vinh Long (capital)

They are further subdivided into five commune-level towns (or townlets), 94 communes, and 10 wards.


Prawns and the Basa and Tra catfish are among the many types of fish that exist in abundance in the waters of Vinh Long. Its rich, fertile soil makes Vinh Long an ideal location for the growing of many exotic and delicious fruits, including the strange-looking mangosteen, the spiky rambutan, and the pungently fragrant durian. Because of Vinh Long’s extensive network of waterways, you can buy these fruits and many other items for mere pennies from floating merchants.

Travelling by water is a common practice here for such mundane tasks as grocery shopping as well as getting to restaurants and tourist attractions located on small islets accessible only by boat. Tourist infrastructure is still in its infancy here, but comfortable lodging and great food are available at reasonable prices.


Vinh Long is approximately 135 km southwest of Ho Chí Minh City. Therefore, Vinh Long is easily accessible by bus, van, or car using National Road 1A and the My Thuan Bridge.

For more details about other provinces and cities of Vietnam, please follow this link.

Back to top of page Offroad Vietnam Motorbike Adventures - Vinh Long Province, Southern Vietnam