Ninh Binh Province General Information

Ninh Binh province, Northern Vietnam
Region: Red River Delta
Capital: Ninh Bình
Area: 1,386.79 km²
Population: 982,487 (2019 Census)
Density: 708/km²
Demographics: Vietnamese, Tay, Thai and Muong
Calling code: 229

Ninh Bình is a province of Vietnam, in the Red River Delta region of the northern part of the country. Despite the small area, this province has many beauty spots. Therefore, it attracts a large number of tourists every year.

Ninh Binh Province Districts

Ninh Bình is subdivided into eight district-level sub-divisions:

6 districts

Gia Vien
Hoa Lu
Kim Son
Nho Quan
Yên Khánh
Yên Mô

2 provincial cities

Ninh Bình (capital)
Tam Diep

They are further subdivided into seven commune-level towns (or townlets), 122 communes, and 16 wards.

Offroad Vietnam Motorbike Adventures - Ninh Binh Province, Northern Vietnam


Ninh Bình is located to the south of the Northern Delta, between the Red and Ma rivers. It is bordered by Hòa Bình and Hà Nam to the north, Nam Đinh to the northeast, Thanh Hóa to the south and west.

Ninh Bình also has a very short coastline abutting the Gulf of Tonkin. The population is 898,500 people. the total area is 1,329.4 sq kilometres.


The ethnic groups include the Viet (also called Kinh group, the Vietnamese ethnic majority), as well as, Dao, Hoa, Hmong, Muờng, Nùng, Tày, Thai, and others. There are 23 ethnic communities, among which the Kinh account for more than 98%.


Natural beauty sights

Tam Coc-Bích Đong
Cuc Phuong: primitive forest and ancient inhabited cave (Nho Quan)
Dich Long cave and Pagoda (Gia Thanh – Gia Vien)

Ecological sights

Cuc Phuong National Park
Van Long – the conserved wetland area (Gia Vien)

Historic sights

Bích Dong pagoda and cave
Bái Dính Temple
Ban Long Pagoda
Dinh and Le Temples
Hoa Lu ancient capital
Hoa Lu Citadel
Nhat Tu Pagoda
Phat Diem Cathedral (Phat Diem – Kim Son)

The old city of Ninh Bình is one of many famous historical sites in Vietnam.

For more details about other provinces and cities of Vietnam, please follow this link.

Back to top of page Offroad Vietnam Motorbike Adventures - Ninh Binh Province, Northern Vietnam